Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The problem with our midfield

Fav. Player
    J.Zanetti, D.Mi

Singapore

The problem with our midfield

Hey guys, this is my first time writing an article so pls forgive me for my naive comments if they are not appropriate.

Looking at our current inter squad, i cannot be more pleased than anything else other than our current midfield line-up. Julio Cesar is world-class. Our defense is really impressive with maicon, samuel, lucio, chivu/santon. Our attack is formidable with eto'o, milito, pandev and balotelli. However, our midfield is nowhere the same standard compared to our world-class attack or defense. Agree?

Mourinho won the UCL in 2004 with an extremely disciplined Porto team. Its midfield consists of the 3 tenacious DMs - Mendes, Costinha and Maniche with Deco as the trequatista. It pretty much resembles our current diamond formation and our current midfield line-up does not seem to lose out too much when compared to the mediorce line-up of Costinha, Maniche and Mendes.

So what is the problem? Yes, the word is tenacious. Mourinho's side triumphed in 2004 because of their discipline and extremely strong defensive mentality. They believed as long as they scored.. they were going to win because they were not going to concede. That was how strong that mentality was. Its discipline coupled with the tenacity of the midfield ensured the opponents had no space or time to control the ball.

Lets compare it with Mourinho's chelsea side then. His 4-3-3 revolutionalized EPL with its 3 ferocious and tenacious midfielders - Makelele, Essien and Lampard. All three of them are extremely dynamic and tenacious. Makelele was the best DM, Essien the best box-to-box tenacious ball-winner and Lampard one of the best finishers as well.